Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

bennyfactor
Nov 21, 2008

Bajaha posted:

Oversized and meant for big loads you say :wink:

But seriously, with the risk of not being able to do the bell piles, and being advised that we would need to do straight piles the size of the bells (so 30 and 36" piles) which is insane, I did some back of the napkin math. Now I'm no structural engineer or geotech so this is to be taken with one massive boulder of salt, but by using some rules of thumb we seem to be way over specificed. We have 69 67 piles on the project, 34 at 49,000lb per pile (30") and 33 at 71,000lb per pile (36"), giving a total max load of 4,009,000lb. Rule of thumb that I found online seems to be 275 lb/sf for two story residential, Rounding to 300 lb/sf, and we have ~5000sf of building (garage + home footprint), giving a total weight of 1,503,900lb.

Rule of thumb and napkin math is saying we're 2.5x over sized for piles. I suspect somebody applied a factor of safety twice somewhere... It's with the structural engineer to figure out, but piles are booked, construction is going, and stopping, demobilizing, and remobilizing is hella expensive. so YOLO.

Peer into my hole

Drill Baby! Drill! Hit oil and we might have the funds needed to get this project to completion!