Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

csammis
Aug 26, 2003

Mental Institution

carry on then posted:

Not sure why you were talking down to me like I'm a freshman CS student but thanks for the suggestions?

No one's talking down to you, it's just that you asked the sort of question a freshman CS student might ask (which doesn't make it a bad question!). It might help if we had more information about your experience so we could recommend things that are new to you. You could tell us what sort of codebases you've already looked through, what languages you might be looking for, and so on. Like SD said coding isn't like an English curriculum so we won't be able to point you to the Shakespeare or whatever of code.

Comedy option: TAOCP :smug:

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

csammis
Aug 26, 2003

Mental Institution

Love Stole the Day posted:

Not sure if this has been asked before here, but are there any tips or common tricks/themes to navigating and accquainting yourself with an open source project that you're interested in trying to contribute to? I ask because I was critiqued that my Github repos are all small projects and so the documentation and code bases are not impressive enough to make people want to call back for an interview. So I'm looking around for stuff to try and work on in the hopes that it can help with finding a full-time job.