Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

IsaacNewton
Jun 18, 2005

Can someone fill me in on why the hell don't dishwasher come with a wire / plug? Pretty much every appliance but that one come with one, is there a reason we have to make our own?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

IsaacNewton
Jun 18, 2005

I'm not an electrician by any stretch (and I'm Canadian anyway) but AFAIK that panel should be on a plywood sheet or something so that the wires can be stapled close to the panel.

If you rewire that dryer.. give yourself some slack! Sheesh that wire is ran tight.

IsaacNewton
Jun 18, 2005

I have this going from my house's 200 amp panel to my garage: (underground)

I did the muscular part (digging the trench and the 3in hole in my garage's concrete floor) now comes the part I need help with.

I'd like to wire all this up for 240v @ 60 amp (I might have a 240v compressor eventually but I wont be running much machinery of this, is 60 amp too much for lighting, a few electrical outlets and the compressor?) How should I wire this up on the panels?

IsaacNewton
Jun 18, 2005

Well I'm preparing to get a permit for this, hoping to have some help..

Here's how I plan to install this;

100amp breaker (it can do 240v since it's a double pole) @ the house panel, (Why don't they make 70 amp breakers to match their 70amp panels?)
70amp panel (8 slots) in the garage