Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Howard Phillips
May 4, 2008

His smile; it shines in the darkest of depths. There is hope yet.
I was an electrical technician for two years before I went to college, and now I'm a second year EE student. As a technician I worked on industrial motor installations, repairs, maintenance, ventilation systems, and some HVAC repair stuff. Loved it but it was more of a monkey see monkey do on the job training that I used every day. Not saying that stuff was easy but the level of understanding is completely different from say doing analysis on 3 phase circuits on paper.

I didn't try hard in high school but did take Calc I and got a bad grade. When I came to college I found the math intimidating but I think my mature attitude towards studying since high school is what really helps me today.

If you bust your rear end and truly appreciate the material then you will be fine. Don't give up on something you have not tried yet. I was seriously considering switching majors when I was taking a course in Differential equations but none of my EEs classes are as in depth as my diffeqs class was. The math in my EE classes are more to the point and practical, less of the crazy diffeqs stuff that I thought I would have to know and use everyday.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Howard Phillips
May 4, 2008

El Kabong posted:

Discipline.