Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

AngryFeet
Sep 3, 2009
I graduated last year with a bsc hons (4 years) in elecrical engineering. I've done coursework in all of these, so I'll rate them in hardness and funness.

Hardness (from :eng101: to :eng99:)
RF/Electromagnetism
Control
Nuclear engineering
Power
Networks (computer sciencey stuff)
Digital Systems (fpgas wadda wadda wadda)
Computer Science

Funness (from :) to :saddowns:)
Digital Systems
Nuclear engineering
Control
Computer Science
Networks
RF/Electromagnetism
Power

Control Engineering helped me get a girlfriend. A non-geeky girlfriend. A real non-geeky girlfriend. No lies.

edit: A left-wing engineer? That'll never do.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

AngryFeet
Sep 3, 2009

Dangbe posted:

I am leaning towards Electrical Engineering as it involves a lot of problem solving but also involves some non-'screen staring' work as well.

I dont know about the states, but here you get "University" engineers and "College" engineers. The university ones have BSc's and do design work (computer staring) and the college technicians have diplomas actually build the stuff.

None of my friends who graduated with me (some straight electrical, some mechanical-electrical) do anything other than stare at screens.
(Well, in electrical I guess you get to lean over and stare at the oscilloscope screen)

Dangbe posted:

I guess my questions for you guys are: