Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

grover
Jan 23, 2002

PEW PEW PEW
:circlefap::circlefap::circlefap:
I'm an electromechanical engineer and have been gainfully employed for about 12 years. I really enjoy it, but then, I'm a geek for this stuff! I specialized in semiconductors and MEMS in college, but ended up getting a job in a completely different engineering field. It's funny how life works out. :)

Academia and real-world engineering are night and day. Academia may reflect what a small subset of research engineers do, but the vast majority of engineers won't use 5% of what you learned in school. It's really quite discouraging, and why I never went back for my masters. For instance, nobody uses calculus; it's far too risky and unnecessary. Any differential equations you need to use were long ago derived down to simple plug 'n chug algebra, and anything more complicated is modeled on a computer. You quite simply will never use any of the math you're learning. (So don't worry if you're sick of that math, that's not engineering.) I hear this time and time again, too. What's important is that you truly and deeply understand the concepts and understand why something happens, even if you're not going to run the equations yourself.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

grover
Jan 23, 2002

PEW PEW PEW