Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Dukkha
Jun 16, 2003
focus... on the pool.
Any advice for a mechanical engineering grad with a BS? I graduated in 07 and took the first job I was offered which was for a position as a patent examiner and worked there for about a year and a half.

I never took the EIT and worry that I may never be able to having been out of school for as long as I have.

I had two solid internships with a pharmaceutical manufacturing plant and have what I think is valuable experience teaching Pro/E as a teaching assistant in the ME department back in school.

My grades were not great, my overall gpa was just over 2.9/4.0 but my so called engineering gpa is a bit better at 3.3/4.0.

I lost my job as a patent examiner some time ago, (I technically quit, but I didn't have any choice, it is a long messy story involving a discrimination case I felt I had against my supervisor which did not go well for me, and I'm rather bitter about the entire experience, but of course I don't let this come through at all when writing cover letters, or dealing with professionals in the few emails I've had with potential employers).

My job search has been utterly depressing I've had zero call backs in almost 6 months of applying for jobs every day. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. I am beginning to feel very under qualified for even entry level positions despite the experience I have.