Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

shyduck
Oct 3, 2003

I graduated with a BSME in 2018. Military vet. Taking the FE in May.

So during college I took a 6-month internship with a systems integrator. Controls and instrumentation, yadda yadda. I enjoyed the work quite a bit, and it's something I want to further pursue.

I was having trouble finding work upon graduation. but after a few weeks I accepted a job with a civil consultant. During the interview, my controls and instrumentation background was a major selling point. They told me about this controls work they had coming up that I would be perfect for. I thought it sounded great and I'd be getting the experience I thought I would.

Fast forward nearly a year and... barely anything. I review a submittal here and there. I talked to a vendor once. All of the integration work I've been involved combined could take up a solid week, tops. It's a smallish firm, so it's not like other people are getting the work instead. I'm the "controls expert" apparently.

I have learned quite a bit about the CivE world, but I'm basically being tasked with what I can only describe as miscellaneous work. On top of all of it, I commute 3 hours a day.

I'm just loving miserable and frustrated. My family has noticed it, especially in the last few months. I'm actively pursuing a new job. No prospects yet.