Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

LeeMajors
Jan 20, 2005

I've gotta stop fantasizing about Lee Majors...
Ah, one more!

This may or may not be the right place to post this question (and if not, please feel free to tell me to gently caress off) but I’m an elder student making a career change at 39 :stare:. I’m enrolled in a transfer program for BSEE which I’ve really just started—reviewing some math, taking and getting back into the swing of academics.

I’m taking an intro to engineering programming course this summer and I’m going to do a codecademy course in my downtime to learn some concepts.

I’m trying to decide what language to delve into just to start learning and, while im leaning toward python, I figured I’d get some input from you guys as to what might be most useful to get started.

I’m trying to be as targeted as possible because, let’s face it, at this age I’ve really got to get it right.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

LeeMajors
Jan 20, 2005

Ah, one more!

Popete posted:

What are you wanting to learn programming for? What area of EE do you think you're interested in? I would say if you're going to be an EE and want to work in something like embedded systems it would be handy to know Python/Bash to be able to write your own basic test scripts. For example writing a script that reads and dumps a bunch of registers from a device across an I2C bus.