Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

falcon2424
May 2, 2005

I got my BSc in Engineering-Physics.

I'm currently working on a PhD in economics. An engineering background is awesome. I get a bunch of opportunities because of my undergrad degree.

So, even if people aren't planning on going into engineering or the hard sciences they should seriously consider getting an undergrad degree in it anyway.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

falcon2424
May 2, 2005

Dangbe posted:

I guess my questions for you guys are:
-Is taking an accelerated Bachelors (3 years) to get an engineering degree insane?
-What are some of the defining characteristics of your work compared to other types of engineering. Contrast Mechanical, Environment, Electrical, etc.
-Can any Engineers tell me the types of careers involved with Environmental Engineering and what kind of things does this major focus on.
-What should I expect when going back to school... Can I hold a 30hr/week job and finish this program in 3 years?
-Is the school that I attend all that important for the degree?

How many courses do you need to take?

And how good are your connections? Will you be going to job fairs, or will you be interviewing with people who know and like you?

falcon2424
May 2, 2005

Dangbe posted: