Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Foyes36
Oct 23, 2005

Food fight!
I studied chemical engineering, but I'm mostly a biologist now. It's funny how life works out.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Foyes36
Oct 23, 2005

Food fight!

The Wensey posted:

Any Chemical Engineers in the house? I'd seriously considering it, as well as straight-up Chemistry. Care to enlighten me?

I have a bachelors and masters in chemical engineering (currently working on a PhD); feel free to ask any specific questions and I'll try to answer them.

Foyes36
Oct 23, 2005

Food fight!

Blobbo posted:

Same with Oxford and Cambridge in the UK - I believe they only issue BAs at undergraduate level. Seems to be a trend with older universities.

Princeton only hands out BSEs in its engineering school (likely due to the sort of attitudes illustrated above). Everything else is an AB at the undergraduate level.

Foyes36
Oct 23, 2005

Food fight!

Realjones posted:

I know I'm not the only person here who shares this sentiment: don't bother with bioengineering.

A lot of biomedical engineering departments discourage students from picking it up as an undergraduate degree unless they're planning on either going to graduate or medical school. It's just too new of a field.

I pretty much did what you recommend (majored in chemical engineering, but did all my upper electives in advanced bio-courses), and am pretty happy about it.

Foyes36