Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Oodles
Oct 31, 2005

I am an Instrument Engineer for a Oil Service Company in the UK. My first two year grades were poo poo - but I managed to turn it around and graduate with an Upper Second Class Masters (Atilla or Trevor (2:1)).

I love my job, I get to design Instrumentation for offshore platforms. Offshore 4 times in the past year in the North Sea. But the company I work for has cut down the number of graduates it hired over the past 2 years due to the downturn in the oil price. The way our company works is that the Operators (Shell, Exxon, Chevron, Conoco, BP) pay us to do their construction offshore.

Click here for the full 1023x655 image.

Where I started, Ninian Central - the firebreathing beast of the West Coast of Scotland.

/edit - I loved that platform

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Oodles
Oct 31, 2005

Kippling posted:

What exactly does that involve? What's your day to day routine?

Typical Day;

Get in at 7:30 (we work flexi-time, and that time co-incides with when my train is). Boot up the Computer to see if there are any emails which have come in from the platforms over night. Because the platforms work 24/7 there could be issues arising during the night which we would need to provide clarification on. But the usual channel is through the Onshore Construction Manager.