Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

sleepy gary
Jan 11, 2006

Phlegmbot posted:

I studied EE. Now I work in nuclear power and it is super awesome.

If you want to know more, let me know.

I'm studying EE. I want to know more.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

sleepy gary
Jan 11, 2006

LloydDobler posted:

I have to admit though, that I was that rear end in a top hat in class who constantly referred to all his life experience trying to impress everyone.

We weren't impressed.

Especially because most of the guys who pull that poo poo are completely uninterested in any theoretical background and whine and moan when forced to learn any theory or anything involving mathematics. "We didn't use any of this poo poo when I worked at <company name>."

sleepy gary
Jan 11, 2006

lightpole posted:

I graduated with a 2.69 and have never been asked for a GPA. Once you get your first job its all about what skills and experience you can pick up in your field, as well as demonstrating those skills and making sure you have good references. Actually getting your first job can be the tricky part.

Really? :downs:

sleepy gary
Jan 11, 2006

frr posted:

I got a bachelors and masters in nuclear engineering, and now I work at a national lab. The pay is acceptable, my boss/coworkers are good people and its rock solid job security but I am not really happy with it.