Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Phlegmbot
Jun 4, 2006

"a phlegmatic...and certainly undemonstrative [robot]"
I studied EE. Now I work in nuclear power and it is super awesome.

If you want to know more, let me know.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Phlegmbot
Jun 4, 2006

DNova posted:

I'm studying EE. I want to know more.

From another thread:

Power engineer

Pros:
Great pay and benefits
1.5x overtime, 2x on weekends, after 35 hours
Flextime
A lot of responsibility
Good mix of routine and unique projects
Challenging
Great boss
Mostly recession proof
Important job
My company reimburses for physical fitness, professional organizations, books, etc
Union-backed job security

Cons:
Not a lot of eye candy around the office
Stressful urgent work can pop up at any time

More:

I studied EE, doing a 13-month internship in networking along the way. After graduation, did a MSEE in electromagnetics. When applying for jobs, I lucked out with a bunch of offers. Nuclear power seemed to be the most interesting, so I took it.

I work at a desk in a downtown office, going out to the plants only occasionally.

Phlegmbot
Jun 4, 2006

Powercrazy posted:

How did you get into Nuclear Power? I'm an EE as well and I briefly looked into it as something I wanted to do, but then got a cool internship and started doing Networking.