Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

CubsWoo
Aug 17, 2005

Where the big boys RAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRGH FUCK YOU

FyRe posted:

I've been ignoring about $5k in debt for about 6 months now. The reason mostly being that I've been couch drifting and so I don't have a physical address. How hosed am I? My question is basically how can I be sued if gov't doesn't even know where I live? I have no assets of garnishable wages to speak of. I tutor under the table.

You can't be sued if you can't be served, but that won't stop some collectors. Some will do it the right way - hiring skip tracers and trying to find you via last known addresses. Others might claim you were served and move to the suit/default judgment anyway (if this happens, you have an open and shut case to have the judgment vacated.) Also, once you have a permanent address (and if the debt is still in statute) expect whoever owns your debt to come after it.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

CubsWoo
Aug 17, 2005

FyRe posted:

how can I find out if I have any judgments against me? If it makes a difference my last permanent address was in GA and I live in NY now.

Check your credit report, and check the county courthouses where you've lived. Many courthouses have online searches, or you can call the clerk's office.

CubsWoo
Aug 17, 2005

Iron Squid posted:

Just for the sake of argument, how would a company show that you were properly served?