Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

joe944
Jan 31, 2004

What does not destroy me makes me stronger.
Scripting noob here working on my first powershell script and I'm wondering if anyone would be able to help me out.

What I'm trying to do is periodically check the external IP address of a machine and determine if it has changed or not. Preferably if the IP has changed it would create an event log that will be picked up by another monitoring tool.

Feel free to tell me I'm retarded for what I've got so far. It's not complete and doesn't quite do what I want yet, but I think I'm on the right track. I need to do some serious reading up on powershell in general but I've picked up a little bit working on this script so far.

code:
$filename = "path\iplog.txt"
$time = " "+(Get-Date).ToString()
$source = "http://whatismyip.org"
$client = new-object System.Net.WebClient
$webpage = $client.downloadString($source)
$lines = $webpage.split("'n")
foreach ($line in $lines) {
    $value = "6522 "+$line +$time
    $value >> $filename
}
$oldip = get-eventlog -logname 'IP Check' -newest 1 | select message

Write-EventLog  -logname 'IP Check' -source 'IP Check' -eventid 1000 -entrytype information -message $line

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

joe944
Jan 31, 2004