Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

CuddleChunks
Sep 18, 2004

This is a very handy thread, thanks for making it! I just started learning Powershell a bit to automate some tasks at home. After reading the OP and some of the other examples in here I'm going to make some modifications to my script and then post it for all to laugh at.

Thanks for the cool info, powershell has been lots of fun to work with.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

CuddleChunks
Sep 18, 2004

How do I properly use command-line arguments in a function? I would like to be fancy and do some error checking and whining at the user if they fail to give me the right parameters.
code:
Example command line: 
.\scriptname "c:\test" "d:\output"

Inside the file: 
function Fun {
	param(
	[parameter(position=0,Mandatory=$true,HelpMessage ="Need a Source Directory" )] $srcdir,
	[parameter(position=1,Mandatory=$true,HelpMessage="Need a Destination Directory")] $dstdir
	)
     write-host "srcdir:" $srcdir "dstdir:" $dstdir
}
$s = $args[0]
$d = $args[1]
Fun $s, $d
What happens every time is that the first parameter gets both of the command-line arguments separated by a space so the variable $srcdir is full of the complete command-line.

I've thrashed at this for a bit and it just doesn't seem to work like I expect. I've tried it like in the code above, calling the $arg[0] and $arg[1] right in the function call and still it acts stupid.

CuddleChunks