Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Phone
Jul 30, 2005

親子丼をほしい。
Background: To kill some time at work and "increase my worth" (read: kill time) I've read up on some Powershell tutorials. I'm new to IT so tricks aren't popping out of my rear end all of the time and I'm really loving horrid at programming, but today was a day where I knew I could have streamlined a lot of stuff just if I knew a bit more; I know how batch files work and I know that PS can do all sorts of fun things. I decided to make a batch file to silently install a dozen Windows Updates, it took me a few tries but I figured out the syntax. I did it the long way and just copied the whole path and filename into notepad to do it. I know that there's a super easy way to get this done with less ctrl+c/v action.

The meat: I can get PS to just dump all of the files with the
code:
get-childitem -Filter *.msu -Name | out-file yourmom.txt
but I want to get it where I can put a string before and after so I can make a batch file without the ctrl+c/v action.

Basically I want to go from
code:
KB1.msu
KB2.msu
KB3.msu
To
code:
fancy.exe $directory-path/KB1.msu /flag1 /flag2
fancy.exe $directory-path/KB2.msu /flag1 /flag2
fancy.exe $directory-path/KB3.msu /flag1 /flag2
But I'm horrible at programming.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Phone
Jul 30, 2005

親子丼をほしい。