Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Lackadaisical
Nov 8, 2005

Adj: To Not Give A Shit
Good time for a new thread!

I have an embarrassing question. I got the paragard a month and a half ago and had no real side effects afterward. Right after my 6 week check up, I started having heavy bleeding. I know bleeding is to be expected, but there wasn't any for so long that I'm starting to get worried. This isn't even spotting. Is this normal or do I call the doctor about it?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Lackadaisical
Nov 8, 2005

SilverSliver posted:

Yep, welcome to your new period! It's pretty much like a faucet for awhile. There's 'on' and there's 'off'. I got my paragard in June of '10 and just the past 3 months I've been having a lead up and let down. (Even then it's just a few hours of spotting before the flood.) On the upside it doesn't last as long. But it does even out, just have to wait for your uterus to get used to it's new friend. :)

Oh, I've had my period since I got the IUD and holy poo poo. This isn't as horrible as that, but it's lasting longer. This started happening a week after my period ended too. Can spotting really be that heavy or is it possible that when my doctor went in to check the IUD, she caused bleeding?

Just to be clear,