Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Mogambo
Jan 6, 2011

:hurr:
This has been a public service announcement to put me on ignore.
I'm curious if there are any episodes that people really don't like. I've been listening to TAL for a few years now, and without fail it's always been fascinating and great.

I have to really try hard to think of one, but the only episode I thought was bad was the one where they had an office contest to do stories pitched by their parents; they were all pretty terrible, if I recall. And even then, they admitted it was just a little experiment to try something new. I've heard some people don't like the Christmas/Holiday episodes, but they were fine to me.

(Also, I hope I'm not the only one who gets super annoyed when they do a story set entirely in another country. It's called This American Life for a reason. :911:)

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Mogambo
Jan 6, 2011

I'm surprised no one has mentioned Mike Birbiglia's story in Fear of Sleep. That's my favorite episode and what basically got me hooked. It also got me to listen to episodes of The Moth for a while, which isn't that good in general, be can be fantastic on rare occasions.

Mogambo
Jan 6, 2011