Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
tips
Feb 16, 2011

Node posted:

I'm not very good at articulating why in this case. It just feels like there isn't much gameplay. I haven't dedicated hundreds of hours to it like Civ 4, for instance, but every game feels the same and the few decisions you make don't seem to make a noticeable difference.

Maybe someone else who has the same feelings as me can explain it better.
Depends, if you play as those rat things you can just sit back, econ up and fall asleep, it's pretty boring. I like playing as SPACE TREXES or some other race without an econ or science boost since you have to constantly invade to keep up. You pretty much play the bad guy and are always biting off as much as you can without having the whole galaxy turn on you, and maybe bribing a few of the bigger players with your plunder. Pretty fun.

Maybe try a more warlike race? The fish bastards are pretty fun, they have a good combination of powerful ships and econ. You can pretty much be a total dick to everyone.

I think some things like shipbuilding could use more depth, I mean it looks pretty complicated but it's all about finding out what works and just using that over and over. I hope all the weapons they're adding in the expansion adds a lot more strategy to it. But mostly I think it's pretty solid, if it had better AI or a MP mode it would be one of my favorites easily.

Adbot