Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Oodles of Wootles
Nov 8, 2008

safe

Sash! posted:

I largely edit things written by engineers, who at least have the excuse of being colossal aspies that didn't have to learn how to write in the first place.

How often do you hear "I don't need to know how to write, I'm an engineer"?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Kalli
Jun 2, 2001

^^ Amusingly, I used to make decent cash proof reading essays for humanities courses from the ones that wanted to keep their GPA's up.

Here's another secret: Those of us that can write coherently will still often obfuscate it to avoid being called or dragged into meetings.

Personally I prefer to update reports with >100 word sentences.

v2vian man
Sep 1, 2007

Only question I
ever thought was hard
was do I like Kirk
or do I like Picard?
I just wish a third of professional writers were any loving good at it. Especially people like King and Florio, who have the contacts to write amazing stuff every week.

Sash!
Mar 16, 2001

Oodles of Wootles posted:

Thankfully, there are two people between the engineers and me. I look at the sentence and think "nope, not publishing this. Rewrite it." I send that back to my person, who moves it on to the proper person in, oh, Astrophysics. That guy hands it back to the engineer. He's probably the guy that then gets to hear it.