Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Charles 2 of Spain
Nov 7, 2017

They have dolphins too.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Charles 2 of Spain
Nov 7, 2017

I'm no expert, but I think it's a couple of things. Japan was still comparatively industrialized and stable after the war (I think that members of the old government stuck around after reconstruction) so there wasn't a need to build everything from from the ground up. Also the US wanted to stop communism in the Asia-Pacific region so it wasn't like the Middle East where the main goal is to plunder it for resources rather than ensure a functioning society.

Charles 2 of Spain
Nov 7, 2017

Okinawa should be independent and the military bases bulldozed.

Charles 2 of Spain
Nov 7, 2017

punk rebel ecks posted:

Please explain to me the gap between Japanese and American colleges.
I've never been to an American university but I'm pretty sure the top ones are much better than any Japanese university in terms of education. Graduate school and research cam be good depending on your lab.

ookiimarukochan posted:

The most impressive part of that article is the journalist for a British organisation claiming that 70,000 yen a month for full time child care is expensive. Almost everything to do with children is a fuckload more expensive in Japan than the UK but childcare sure as gently caress isn't.