Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Solis
Feb 2, 2011

Now you can take this knowledge and turn it into part of yourself.
I'm a veterinarian and I'm thinking mostly long term after my studies are done. Right now I'll be working full time as a resident with my salary covered under an teaching assistantship. After I finish though I'm assuming that's it and I have to go back home and if I find work apply again under the TN-1. I'm hoping to find out it there's any easier way to transition to working down there after I graduate again.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

angel opportunity
Sep 7, 2004

Total Eclipse of the Heart
If it's an assistantship and your primary purpose is studying then you would be an F-1 student. You can do OPT after you graduate and (hopefully) transition to an H1 afterward.

Solis
Feb 2, 2011

Now you can take this knowledge and turn it into part of yourself.

systran posted:

If it's an assistantship and your primary purpose is studying then you would be an F-1 student. You can do OPT after you graduate and (hopefully) transition to an H1 afterward.

I'm Canadian though, so the university is saying I don't need a visa at all apparently? It's a little bit confusing. Or maybe I just get it as soon as I present at the border

angel opportunity
Sep 7, 2004