Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
crime fighting hog
Jun 29, 2006

I only pray, Heaven knows when to lift you out
This might be a long post, so I apologize in advance but I doubt I should make my own thread.

I want to get into photography as a side job, eventually a full-time gig doing the gamut: weddings, senior portraits, couples, events, the works. My current job I am a staff writer for several Midwestern newspapers. We have a skeleton crew, so I am often one of the lead photographers as well for city festivals and always responsible for my own art for my stories.

In college, when I worked at the student newspaper, I took my student loans and bough a Nikon D40. Ten bucks a photo in the paper paid it back pretty quick, and that was my first inclination that I really, really enjoyed photography. I stuck with writing primarily.

Then I graduated and got my job here, where I've been writing and shooting for the past year and a half. My current camera is a Canon EOS 5D MK I, with a Sigma 24-70 as my standard though I have access to a Sigma 70-300 telephoto but I rarely need it for up close stuff.