Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

I just got NT in trade for Commands and Colors Ancients from a guy on BGG and I'm going through the rulebook and some of the videos. Can't wait to try it out.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

I'm no expert, but I think wargaming has moved far enough beyond Tactics 2 that it's not really relevant anymore and wouldn't give you a good idea of what the genre has to offer.

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

That's for America in Flames.

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

I don't know if I'd participate but I'd love to see it.

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

Combat Commander was the first non-minis wargame I played and it's not that hard to pick up. If you're not used to the bullet-number rulebook they can be a little challenging, but CC has a thorough walkthrough of several turns of the game to help you get up to speed. Also a good chunk of the rulebook is just longer explanations of things printed on the cards so you don't have to read the whole thing to get started.

cenotaph
Mar 2, 2013

King Chicken posted:

Chad Jnsen is really good at writing rule books and simplifying complex ideas, which makes Combat Commander a great entry into tactical wargames. It's not only suitable as a first game, but possibly the only one you'll ever need. There is lighter stuff out there, but go with a game that is actually good rather than worrying about gateway crap.