Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Zombie #246
Apr 26, 2003

Murr rgghhh ahhrghhh fffff
Have you guys managed to play World in Flames? How is it?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Zombie #246
Apr 26, 2003

A bit late, but I played some Cuba Libre with some people on #boardgoons, and it was very very good. I'm still new at card-driven games, and they are certainly on the heavier end of the spectrum for games I've played in general (having just gotten my feet wet with Twilight Struggle).

All in all, good fun. Played the 26th faction, kidnapping people and raising terror. Had no idea what I was doing, but still a very enjoyable experience with a very compelling amount of depth. If it were only 2 player (not the modified 2 player in the book) with just 2 of the factions, I could see it being a little lighter than Twilight Struggle; with 4 people you have to pay attention to so much (not a bad thing).

Zombie #246
Apr 26, 2003

There was Divine Right, some old wargame based on a D&D campaign iirc, but it's long out of print, and I'm not really sure how good of a game is due to its age.

Zombie #246
Apr 26, 2003

I just realized I have a wargame...that means I can clip the counters.

Zombie #246
Apr 26, 2003

What's everyone's thoughts on how World At War has aged? I'm thinking about pulling the trigger and getting some grand strategic games soon, most likely TK, but keeping that option open for later.

Zombie #246