Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

a ritard

by XyloJW
now i work as a cook so i like to keep it simple at home, but here is my steak recipe:

new york strip (any size, i usually go 8oz)
spices (black pepper and thyme, use any combination you like)

heat an all-metal saute pan (frying pan) to about 250 degrees (i know my electric range by simmer and boil so it's a little bit above that)

drop the steak in before it's too hot (if it doesn't sizzle, give the pan another minute to warm up)

let the steak sizzle for about 3 minutes. flip, spice the cooked side, and do the same to the other side.

drop the pan into the high oven rack and turn on the broiler on high. i like to close the oven door.

wait 6-10 minutes (you'll hear the steak really start to make noise), remove and set on the stovetop, flip the steak and let it rest 5 minutes. ideally you'll want to pull the steak just before it starts making noise, let the steak rest on a cutting board if you think it's a bit overdone.

do not trim the fat before cooking. enjoy your steak with some greens.