Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
mugrim
Mar 2, 2007

The same eye cannot both look up to heaven and down to earth.
First off general disclaimer, I am not a lawyer so please do not construe any of this as legal advice. If you have questions about your specific situation, call your state bar and ask for Legal-Aid or ask for a list of Social Security Disability law firms, most work on a contingency fee and can give you answers for free.

Now that we're past that ugliness, lets move forward.

I'd like to talk about Social Security Disability.

Why should I care about Social Security Disability?

Beyond not wanting to see the sick and injured dying in the streets (which should be enough), Social Security Disability benefits account for about 140 billion dollars, or about 1600 bucks a household. It is paid out of your FICA taxes which comprise about 15% of your income.

What is Social Security Disability?

Glad you asked, it actually comprises quite a bit of different benefits and the words "Social Security Disability are often used interchangeably which just causes more confusion.

Here are a few types: