Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Xibanya
Sep 17, 2012

Clever Betty
Ya...tal

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Xibanya
Sep 17, 2012

Clever Betty
I'm no expert but Catalonia is and has historically been the wealthiest region of Spain in part due to its strategic location. I know a lot of cynics say that the separatist movement has a touch of FYGM to it. Then there's also the fact that historically its language has been suppressed and the central government has always tried to dick around with it so who knows.

Xibanya
Sep 17, 2012

Clever Betty

PT6A posted:

Very interesting. I've got the idea in my head to spend a month or so in Spain this year, so I'll definitely be following this thread just to learn more about what's going on.

I've also got a slight bone to pick with the OP: a ham in every household is everyone's dream, not just Spanish people.

Yes but if you've never seen the reality of a cured pig leg just hanging out in the kitchen it's quite different to actually see it from imagine it.

I ended up on local Spanish news in Ávila once because I attended the matanza of a village and my friend's mom grabbed the reporter and was like "there's an American here!!!!"

I told them we don't have matanzas in America and it would actually be quite shocking as most Americans don't think about where their meat comes from and then me and the reporter agreed that was a shame.