Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
DrBouvenstein
Feb 28, 2007

I think I'm a doctor, but that doesn't make me a doctor. This fancy avatar does.
This thread appears to be oriented towards consumer-grade backup solutions/questions, but I've got one about enterprise-level I hope I can get a solid answer to:

Yesterday, a client of ours needed a single file restored to a previous version. They use backup Exec 2014 with a Data Domain (which from what I can tell is a bad solution...Backup Exec seems to hate Data Domains.)

I figured it would be a simple procedure, I've done it with Barracuda and Veeam dozens of times.

But no...it kept failing. It would get to "Staging", get to about 30.6 kb staged, then fail after like 45 minutes with an error about not enough space. The file being restored is only about 1 MB, and the temp location I'm restoring it to has gigs of free space.
The error is V-79-57344-33935.

This seems to indicate the B2D location needs more space...but it also seems to be referring to backups, not a restore job.

So I look into it more, and I see posts like this:
http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/can-not-restore-specific-files-using-grt-vmdk-files

About needing enough space in the staging location for the ENTIRE VMDK the file resides on...in this case, that would be 850 Gigs (yay for overly bloated file servers.)