Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Thirteen Orphans
Dec 2, 2012

I am a writer, a doctor, a nuclear physicist and a theoretical philosopher. But above all, I am a man, a hopelessly inquisitive man, just like you.

alnilam posted:

My main motivation is actual self defense

aikido

I love good Aikido, but it’s really only good for self defense if your opponent has literally no idea what they’re doing or is very drunk. Basically if they grab your wrist or swing wildly you’d be good. This is simply my opinion others will disagree.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

CommonShore
Jun 6, 2014

A true renaissance man

Don't overlook muay thai either. You can train it without getting punched, it's surprisingly good for self-defense applications if you learn grappling basics to go with it, and your attributes (long w/ good cardio) are a good fit.

Basically out of judo/bjj/muay thai and even standard boxing, the best bet is the one of those where you enjoy the classes and the gym environment the most. 80% of the "what's better" among those is about enjoying going to the classes and learning stuff.

Oh and Sambo is less common but if there happens to be Sambo near you it's also very good. Likewise wrestling, but idk how many chill wrestling schools for grown ups there are.

CommonShore
Jun 6, 2014

A true renaissance man

Thirteen Orphans posted: