Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Emmideer
Oct 20, 2011

Lovely night, no?
Grimey Drawer
I have a Master's degree tailor made for doing data science but because it's not named data science but instead psychology nobody ever believes me and I have literally never gotten a data science interview in *checks* over a year despite having used Python, R, and SPSS to comfortable levels.

Any advice?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

MickeyFinn
May 8, 2007
Biggie Smalls and Junior Mafia some mark ass bitches

Vomik posted:

Why data science? I don’t know if the physics PhD has the same cachet there as other quant fields like finance. Hedge funds and banks love physic phds and the departments are mostly run by physic PhD who are looking for more. Field is smaller but pay is way higher.

Basically this:

ultrafilter posted:

The average quality of life at tech companies is much higher than at financial companies.

coupled with the fact that I don’t really want to move to New York. Whatever cachet physics had in quantitative finance didn’t rub off on me, anyway. The only people I know who have had any luck in either field left during or directly after grad school. Only idiots like me did the work in physics while in school, the smart people did Kaggle competitions and such.

Vomik
Jul 29, 2003

This post is dedicated to the brave Mujahideen fighters of Afghanistan

MickeyFinn posted:

Basically this: