Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

ALL ABOARD THE SCOTLAND HYPE TRAIN!

CHOO CHOO
Apropos of nothing, I started playing XCOM again off the back of this lp, and am about to lose to the avatar timer, which is hugely embarrassing. Do either of the first missions for alien hunters or last gift give you timer reduction?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

CHOO CHOO
Oh god please do magnetic weapons next, mutons and robits are going to mess you up.

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

CHOO CHOO

Affi posted:

He was basically fine since overwatch shots can’t crit.

Another thing that is not at all obvious for a first timer

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

CHOO CHOO

Affi posted:

Also a false statement because there are skills. (And there might even be enemies who have that skill) (I don’t know!)

Well, yeah, once you get a sergeant support it becomes kinda obvious, but that's very much midgame.

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

CHOO CHOO
Man, I'm playing through WotC with the DLC for the first time, and my god have I just had a rug pull the Archon alien leader, that gets a reaction after every loving move! Still, :xcom: and no-one died by some miracle.

tarbrush
Feb 7, 2011

CHOO CHOO
I feel like XCOM2 does a pretty good job of showing what an underdog you are with all the talk of rickety old systems, the lack of uniforms, the scars on Bradford etc.