Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

George H.W. Cunt
Oct 6, 2010

Would you ever make your own cheese?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Sandwich Anarchist
Sep 12, 2008

George H.W. oval office posted:

Would you ever make your own cheese?

As a former chef, I have! It's been mostly limited to small scale fresh cheeses like ricotta and mozzarella, as larger format cheeses require a LOT of loving milk, time, and consistency in environment.

Foxfire_
Nov 8, 2010

Fresh cheeses are often pretty straightforward to make. Those pierogis a couple posts up would more traditionally be made with quark (ferment milk, acid set, no aging)

Karia
Mar 27, 2013

Self-portrait, Snake on a Plane
Oil painting, c. 1482-1484
Leonardo DaVinci (1452-1591)

Blue Moonlight posted:

That’s how you get haunted!

Curd-sed by grandma

Warbird
May 23, 2012

America's Favorite Dumbass

So is tillamook by and large considered to be of decent quality? I’ve had some of their stuff in the past that was pretty good but I’ve no idea the general perception of the brand.

Android Apocalypse
Apr 28, 2009

The future is
AUTOMATED
and you are
OBSOLETE

Illegal Hen
I'm likely very biased as Tillamook is in Oregon but I think it's a solid quality cheese. Their ice cream is pretty good too IMO.

Sandwich Anarchist
Sep 12, 2008
Tillamook is in my opinion the best generally available commodity cheddar.

thotsky
Jun 7, 2005

hot to trot