Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Pipistrelle
Jun 18, 2011

Seems the high horse is taking them all home

This is my first time participating in one of these threads, so I’m pretty excited about this. The last couple of years were pretty transitional for me. I quit my job and went back to school in 2018, graduated last January, and got a new job in March making a decent amount more than I had at my previous job. A lot of 2019 was centered around rebuilding my emergency funds and figuring out my new financial situation. I want 2020 to be about finishing out some of the things from last year, and then building on what I already have. So on that note, here are my goals:

Financial Goals

1. Get house emergency fund to $10,000 by April
I’m currently at $7852. I own my home, so I would like to $10k in reserves in case anything goes sideways. Gave myself a little wiggle room on time for this one.

2. Get personal emergency fund to $15,000 by July
I’m currently at $10,803. Same as above, a little wiggle room on this one. My company may being getting bought, so I’m a little nervous about getting laid off even though my boss says I shouldn’t be. Whatevs, at least I’ll have an emergency fund if I do.

3. Fully fund Roth IRA by October 30

4. Contribute at least $5000 to 401(k) by EOY