Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Inkspot
Dec 3, 2013

I believe I have
an appointment.
Mr. Goongala?
Absolute newbie question, but where should I go to program a dice roller (5d6 v 5d6 out of pools of 10-20d6, counting 5s and 6s and removing 1s from either pool, until either pool reaches 5 or below) to playtest the base mechanics of a game? I'm pretty solid on that base rolling system, and have caveats for characters beyond the base, but rolling both sides 1000 times and documenting the results seems like the kind of thing AI was designed to do.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Inkspot
Dec 3, 2013

I believe I have
an appointment.
Mr. Goongala?
Unfortunately, I don't know Python, but that was the first thing that popped up when I searched for modifying dice rolls. As I'm not a programmer, I came here.

---

Each player (of 2) chooses a character.

Each player rolls 5d6 v 5d6. Any modularity beyond that (which is where choosing specific characters comes in) is gravy.

Each character starts with 10-20d6 (depending on desired length of game), rolling 5d6 at a time (with some characters rolling 4d6 or 6d6), until either player gets down to a pool of 5d6 or fewer.

There is a Withdraw/Posture aspect that I want to include but I'm focusing on baby steps at the moment.

Each 1 (or 2 depending on the character) subtracts a die from the players' initial pool of 10-20.