Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Internetjack
Sep 15, 2007

oh god how did this get here i am not good with computers
Top Cop
Dang, I don't want to sully anyone's street cred here, but Dragonlance was loving awesome.

Yeah, derivative trite nonsense, but what a cool world and story. I love the fact it was based on nerd's dnd campaign. There were so many cool story elements too.

What was the city, Tsak Soroth or some such that was buried under the mountain, where the heroes journeyed to discover the lost faith of the old god's that could bring clerical healing back to the world? That broken rear end city buried in a massive cavern was totally cool and the journey into it, facing a dragon, was the tits.

And why was it buried? Oh yeah, a bunch of years previous the human priest king in his hubris demanded the gods convey their power to him; and the gods responded by smiting the planet with a huge meteor strike that upended the world and continents, breaking maps and upending civilization for hundreds of years. Yeah that is just some mundane poo poo. Oh yeah, and a nerds journey to become a god himself. Ho loving hum.

Even the fanfics like Legend of Huma were good stories, flushing out the world and its history even more.