Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Timeless Appeal
May 28, 2006
As a teacher I'm incredibly hopeful. I will give the caveat that I live and work in New York City, so there is a liberal bias. I get to teach the progressive book that defines various gender identities and sexualities to twelve year olds (That goons helped support!). Sexual education has moved far beyond just avoiding pregnancy and STIs. There is a huge focus on healthy relationships, self-image, and consent.

Beyond that, consent is incredibly built into my kids' minds. Parents talk about it and it's all over media my kids consume. Sometimes the kids even mention it in a joking way (A kid announces in their D&D group that their character is married to another character but sly says, "It's okay, I asked for their consent first.") Like even in that incredibly dorky and weird, half joking example, you see how aware kids are of the concept.

More than that, there does seem to be less pressure for gender norms. A lot more kids are experimenting with non-binary and ace identities. Maybe those won't be the identities that define them longterm, but to me it shows that their is less a need to wrap one's self worth in narrow identities.

Having taught for ten years, it's a huge difference. One of my early teaching experiences, I was treated like I was overreacting for becoming concerned with how often boys were grabbing girls' butts in schools.