Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

FouRPlaY
May 5, 2010

poo poo Fuckasaurus posted:

Hi thread, I've been a shadow editor for a few creators I know for several years and recently badly derailed the PYF Tweets thread answering questions, so I'm going to hang a shingle here in case anyone wants my insights.

For context I've been editing video since 2004 when I was in high school. I did a little paid work for student films in college, but my side hustle in social media videos started when I met a Disney YouTuber at Disney World (I'm Orlando local) in 2017. We hit it off and I ended up having lunch with them, and they mentioned that due to a family emergency the video they were shooting that day wouldn't be published for probably several days, which they were bummed about because it was the first day of Food And Wine. I mentioned that I had experience in Premiere Pro and ended up with their day's raws in my inbox on the mere promise that I would try.

I have a terrible, nonexistent sleep schedule and ADHD, so I edited the video overnight and had a prelim in their inbox by sunrise. The response was great, and after a few edits and a video call I shipped them the final and they published that day. We didn't discuss pay, I was helping a brother out of a jam and their thanks was enough, but they paid me more than fairly and I was thrilled.