Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Qubee
May 31, 2013

I'm in my 2nd year of Mechanical Engineering. Most of our lecturers are terrible and make no sense. We're doing Fourier series and the guy teaching it is worthless. How hosed am I for my Engineering degree? Will I be able to pass if I just get the recommended book for this module and teach myself by studying it at the library religiously? Is it even possible to learn well enough from a book to understand this stuff? It's really stressful, because it absolutely ruins motivation to even turn up to these 2 hour lectures when I walk out feeling like the only thing I've gained is a tick on my attendance.

Most of us are relying on Khan Academy to learn stuff like Laplace Transforms and Fourier, but it feels like an absolute joke that we need to resort to a free online resource because our paid-for lecturers aren't good at their jobs.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Qubee
May 31, 2013

Oodles posted:

The best part of my uni degree was when I found the past papers from previous years in the library.

I don’t think I gained much from lectures as I did from tutorials. You also sound keener than me, doing extra learning. I was to busy chasing girls, getting pissed and failing exams in 2nd Year.