Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
George Bush
Jun 20, 2006
That's not a war...I'll show you a war!
I am an attorney from New York that works pretty exclusively with game and app developers. I keep seeing headlines about another indie getting screwed over by a big company, when the simplest of protections (ie. registering a trademark) would have saved them. So, I'm here to offer some free guidance to those who might have some questions.

I also wrote this guide on trademarks for people who can't/don't want to spend the legal fees on actual protection: http://ryanmorrisonlaw.com/trademark-advice-for-those-who-cant-afford-any-advice/

DISCLAIMER: I am an American attorney licensed in New York. Nothing in this post creates an attorney/client relationship. I cannot answer specific questions that only relate to you. This post is meant as general guidance to inform only and you should always contact a lawyer before moving forward with anything.

Right then. Ask away!

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Sir_Substance
Dec 13, 2013
If I start a company to make a specific service, and don't do a check to see if some or all of the concepts are patented before forging ahead, what are the possible ramifications down the line?

Assuming I don't have any money to pay a lawyer, what should I do to help protect myself?

(I'm from Australia BTW, but let's just gloss over that fact for the moment...)

George Bush