Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Chin Strap
Nov 24, 2002

I failed my TFLC Toxx, but I no longer need a double chin strap :buddy:
Pillbug
I've been playing after being gone for 5 years and have tried to not use others blueprints to do things beyond smelting and green chips because those are boring and obvious. I wound up spending a ton of time trying to build the most compact purple science blueprint I could and have learned just like real coding that too much optimization just isn't worth it. I now know to just come up with the logical chunks of things I need to make, make each chunk in an ergonomic way, and then get them reasonably together.

I've also learned that not only is too much belt weaving and reuse hard to manage, it can also screw up throughout if you wind up needing to rely on long reach inserters for high volume input. I've got to pay attention to number of items as well as type. My rails need to get redone in order to get stone in fast enough now.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Chin Strap
Nov 24, 2002

Pillbug

KillHour posted:

Unlike coding, Factorio is a game so the correct level of optimization is "as much as you think is fun"

Yeah and it is a fun exercise but I still should only do it *after* I've made a reasonable baseline.

Chin Strap
Nov 24, 2002

Pillbug

The Locator posted: