Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]
What was your education level when you first joined, donut consumers?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]

Branis posted:

i have an associates degree, in law enforcement.

Aren't you sheriff of some tiny rear end town though?

Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]

Whale Cancer posted:

Sheriff's departments are county, not city.

Our Sheriff serves papers and nothing more. I live in an rear end backwards county so idk

Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]
What are the best qualifications to have excluding a degree or the military?

Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]

quote:

In theory the drones do add a lot of options. Tranquilizer darts become a real possibility for fleeing subjects, because you can sit around and wait to see if a small dose takes affect. Nets are possible. A glue gun to could stick the suspect in place. You can also just keep a patrol car at a distance and wait for the suspect to get tired.

A more radical approach would be to take the beat cops' guns away and put lethal force only in the hands of a small subset of highly trained officers.

None of that is very likely with todays police but there's no reason that drones couldn't be used to decrease police shootings and collateral damage.

Well?!

Woof Blitzer
Dec 29, 2012

[-]

Grem posted:

Are you quoting from BSS?

You're so far off.