Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Bilirubin
Feb 16, 2014

The sanctioned action is to CHUG

Carthag Tuek posted:

En Ulsteinætt ("An Ulstein Lineage") is a genealogical book & the other book is as you say a novel. Simeon M. Ekornes has written a number of genealogical books and published some articles in respectable periodicals, so he's probably generally trustworthy. Do note however that he was by profession a bank manager.
https://www.nb.no/search?q=simeon%20ekornes (National Library search)

The three medieval letters from Diplomatarium Norvegicum that are mentioned in the book excerpt can be seen here:
1264-??-??: https://www.dokpro.uio.no/perl/middelalder/diplom_vise_tekst.prl?b=9744
1292-06-28: https://www.dokpro.uio.no/perl/middelalder/diplom_vise_tekst.prl?b=9745
1318-03-26: https://www.dokpro.uio.no/perl/middelalder/diplom_vise_tekst.prl?b=9750

The letters are preserved as copies from the 17th century. They support that Thoron was given a farm called Berg in Elvedalen by Haakon IV, that she was the mother of a Thorald Thoraldsson, and in turn grandmother of that man's son Erlend Thoraldsson. Unfortunately, the letters are designated to Thorald and Erlend, so the original letter(s) to Thoron may not exist. Neither her patronymic or byname are mentioned.