Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Dr. Despair
Nov 4, 2009

39 perfect posts with each roll.

Bimtob posted:

I'm just starting to learn about photography (light, composition, etc), so I don't have much to offer as far as critique. Anyway, I really like this. I kinda feel like I want the figures to be a tiny bit sharper to stand out against the haziness of the rest of the image, but overall a nice photo.

I took several shots of this dog on the porch, this one I ended up liking the best.

I like this, but I wish the dog was exposed a bit more. Maybe use a mask or something to expose the bottom half of the picture more to even things out?

Here's about the only picture I've taken in the past month that's not a bird.

DSC_0966.jpg by MrDespair, on Flickr

And here is a bird.

Settling In by MrDespair, on Flickr

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Dr. Despair
Nov 4, 2009

I should post in here more.

First, what was originally a snapshot. I'm pretty happy with the overall look, but I'm really not that happy about the reflection cutting across the lens. My lighting was pretty bad (3200 iso + a flash), but I'm wondering especially what would be a good way to light this up to give it a good even fill without getting any glare in the lens. Probably just need to make a lightbox or use the tripod.

I also need to stop it down at least 1 more stop, the top of the lettering seems to be going out of focus as well.