Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

fenix down
Jan 12, 2005

ROFLburger posted:

Anyone have any resources they'd recommend for complete noobs? I'm a MW2 DMZ refugee trying to learn the game. I played a few practice matches and it seems like everything I liked about DMZ cranked up a bunch.

What kind of babby's first game loop should beginners be worried about? I'm just looking for general guidance about what to focus on for my first few dozen games. Should I try to focus on doing quests? Is there anything I can do to level up skills faster? I assume I should expect to get poo poo on every game and not to get too frustrated if I have an abysmal extraction rate.
I'm new as well! Definitely throw in some scav runs when you can. Enable voice (might have to remap the push to talk key) and you may find some friendly player scavs who you can team up with. Look for PMC corpses and equip their backpack to carry out more loot, then extract to transfer it all to your vault. Make sure you have some inventory slots set aside before going in - can stack backpacks to free up a lot of space.

If you have a quest in a hot zone and are worried about losing your best gear, just go in with a shotgun & slugs (and some meds in your pouch of course) with the intention of killing a scav for their kit. I have done this a couple times and was killed by a player within 30 seconds.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

fenix down
Jan 12, 2005