Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Fur20
Nov 14, 2007

すご▞い!
君は働か░い
フ▙▓ズなんだね!

Spudd posted:

I'm not very good at this creating huge structures thing that some people in this thread are. I just wanted tones of small places that the NPC's could walk to. I've done a bit more work on it and currently NPC's can reach all areas and that makes me happy.
I love seeing the different building philosophies of the people who play this game. Sometimes I see a fella who posts his or her epic castle, and sometimes I see a minimalist apartment complex. Then you have stuff like this where you've got a clustered village but everyone has their own little place.

Me, I'm a very solitary kinda guy. My Terraria buildings are individual houses, some more grandiose than others, separated by more or less the maximum allowed distance between NPCs to prevent daytime spawns, so pretty much the center 1/3 of my map is this vast city of glass, wood, and stone with plenty of grasslands and hills in between. I'll get a screenshot either tonight or tomorrow when my usual host is on.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Fur20
Nov 14, 2007

すご▞い!
君は働か░い
フ▙▓ズなんだね!

Fewd posted:

What is this approximate distance by the way? I have no idea how far they spawn, I've just been building on "this probably be far enough" gut feeling.